//
you're reading...
Featured

Longing to lager


As a newbie to the art of brewing at home, it gets difficult to read about the different types of beer and methods for brewing and fermenting.

The difficulty doesn’t stem from being able to understand what you’re reading–although, there is some of that, too–but more from the fact that you feel like a kid in a candy store. There’s simply too many toys out there for home brewing beer. From propane burners to mash and lautering tuns to sparge equipment, it can get a bit overwhelming.

For now, I’m happy to stick with the extract/partial mash method because of the cost of the equipment required to go to an all-grain method. However, I know what will be on my birthday and Christmas lists this year!

The only “major” purchase I’ve made so far is a 32 quart stock pot. Unfortunately, it will be a little longer before I can justify buying a propane burner to be able to use it. I’m wary about buying a used one, since almost anyone wanting to sell them wants too much–in my opinion.

Unless anyone out there has one there looking to give me; I’d give it a good home.

Another reason I’m not looking to get into the all-grain method just yet is the science and calculation necessary to ensure you’ve maximized your yield from mashing the grains. I feel like when I go down that path I may need to take some chemistry courses at a local community college to figure some of it out. If not, I’m sure going to look into creating a spreadsheet that will do most of the work for me. I’m not lazy, but I don’t want to do the math anymore than is necessary.

With all that said, I’ve been giving the next batch some thought and I’m leaning toward a lager (this was more for me). This would be my first attempt with this type of fermentation, so I’ve got some more reading ahead.

Any suggestions would definitely be welcome.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

