//
you're reading...
Jobs

Good news, bad news


A giant sigh of relief as a long-awaited opportunity finally came through for my wonderfully talented wife.

She has been teaching for several years now and has applied to the Saint Joseph School District many times.

After so many tries, my wife was beginning to think she had become the definition of insanity: repeating the same procedure and expecting a different result.

There was a difference this time when she applied for her new position; she had an insider advise her to apply.

While this is great for my wife, it bodes very poorly for my job prospects.

I equate the need to know someone within an organization to procure a job as an extension of the good ole boy network.

Let me be clear when I say that I think that system of hiring is complete and utter bullshit.

I know that it’s completely unrealistic, but I would love for people to actually do more than a few interviews to make a hire. It seems that the current hiring process weeds out 90% of job applicants based solely on a lack of “experience,” which apparently sucks for me.

In the field of journalism, I am limited to mainly my experience on a student publication and my blogging. I believe my job experience as a transportation security officer (airport screener) actually hurts me, but if I don’t list it then I have a massive employment gap. It appears now that I am doomed to life of working at that damn airport until I die, which will probably be sooner now because of that realization.

Again, I couldn’t be happier for my wife, but it definitely is a bittersweet experience as I continue to receive emails like this:

Dear Todd,

Thank you for taking the time to apply and interview with Company name removed. We greatly appreciate your interest in our organization.

While we were impressed with your qualifications, after careful consideration we have decided to pursue other candidates at this time.

Please note that your resume will be kept on file for six months, and we may contact you in the event that there is another position we feel you are qualified for.

Again, thank you and we wish you the best of luck in your continued job search and future endeavors.

Sincerely,

Name Unimportant, CIR, CDR
Manager, Talent Acquisition

If you actually read that boiler plate piece of crap, you’ll see that it thanked me for interviewing with them. Well, guess what? I didn’t because they never asked me to do so.

They don’t even have the decency to have specific rejection letters; they just use a one size fits all approach.

I’m done venting for now. Congratulations to my wife and hide the razors from me.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

