//
you're reading...
Featured

When it rains, it pours


shark

My parents were lucky enough to get home the other day to the wonderful sound of rushing water.

No, I’m not talking about the sound coming from a waterfall or some raging river–this was inside their house.

Who wouldn’t feel that gut-wrenching rush of adrenaline as you seek the source of running water when you arrive home and know that you had no visitors. Thankfully, this wasn’t the result of some psychos looking to steal copper from their home and cutting valuable pipe causing the damage.

The problem actually occurred from a flawed Sharkbite fitting that runs to a garden tub in their master bathroom. My parents home has the luxury of PEX water pipe, and from what little I have seen from this product it is without a doubt the best plumbing pipe you can buy. It is thick, durable, and from my limited experience, nearly indestructible.

The failing, as previously referenced, occurred in the Sharkbite fitting, which I have found to be reliable, obviously the plumber confirmed for them that this was where the problem was located. Fortunately, they called their builder and he contacted the plumber who showed up within the hour to repair the damaged pipe. The leak occurred in a room with an electric train set, treadmill and other pieces of equipment that they are still unsure of the extent of damage.

My Mom, being the level-headed woman she is, only suffered a minor melt down when she discovered the several inches of water on the floor in their roughly 3-year-old home.

The plumber illustrated in a video captured by my step father the failed fitting and the plumber told my parents he has complete confidence that Sharkbite will be footing the bill for the failure. I hope this story has a happy ending for my parents and for interested parties, I will try to keep you aware of what is going on with their situation.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours

  1. that sucks.

    Posted by Anonymous | May 13, 2013, 4:05 pm
  2. That’s awful. I hope everything turns out okay.

    Posted by Anonymous | May 14, 2013, 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

