//
you're reading...
Featured

Everybody wins, everybody loses


From the Huffington Post

From the Huffington Post

While perusing the web, not sure what I was looking for, I stumbled across this article: http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200411/nation-wimps.

It’s not a quick read, but it is certainly a good one.

When taking a step back, I don’t feel that my wife and I are referenced in this article very much, but I have certainly seen both sides of the child-rearing spectrum over the last several years.

Children need an opportunity to grow into themselves. Freedom and responsibility come with maturity, but the kids need the opportunity to make mistakes and learn from them. Obviously, I’m not suggesting that parents ignore their children or let them engage in harmful behavior. However, it would be nice if some parents didn’t feel the need to coddle children every step of the way.

I think the biggest wussifying (my word) aspect today is letting children play games where everyone gets a trophy. What the hell is that? Competition is good. It teaches kids an invaluable lesson about hard work and dedication. When you remove the reward then you provide a negative to the children that strive for excellence. They think, ‘What’s the point?’ and I can’t blame them. The point of winning and losing teaches kids that you can’t just show up and expect to get a trophy/reward; you’re going to have to work for it.

Is that really so awful?

The last time I checked, that was what built this country. I think if you click on the link above and read the story, you’ll agree with almost everything in it.

Let your kids make mistakes, and stock up on some band-aids. Unless your kid’s a hemophiliac or you’re a child whose mother is completely disabled by the site of blood, everything will be alright.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

