//
you're reading...
Featured

I’ve never met you before…


photo (4)

Well, it’s neighborhood cleanup today in Museum Hill Neighborhood District in St. Joseph, MO.

Twice a year the neighborhood association is entitled to a couple of free dumpsters: one for yard waste, and one for household trash. It only costs the neighborhood 10 bucks for the permits.

The best part is that they’re traditionally parked very close to my house, which makes it easier on me.

The bad part is that we always have to keep an eye on the dumpsters to make sure we haven’t had a major infusion of new neighbors. Translation: people know about the neighborhood cleanups going on around town and try to dump their trash in the dumpsters as well.

I wouldn’t have a problem with it if they waited until later in the day when the actual neighbors had already completed their cleanup activities.

I guess on some level I should be glad that these people are trying to do some cleaning themselves, but in the end it just creates more work for me. They tend to try to throw things away that we aren’t allowed to take like furniture, chemicals, tires, and an assortment of other wastes that we get charged for in the event they find their way to the landfill.

It’s already a taxing activity, I just wish my “neighbors” wouldn’t make it any more so.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

