//
you're reading...
children, Featured

I want a skateboarding unicorn


Cutest skateboarding unicorn ever! Artwork by Sophia Fuller

Cutest skateboarding unicorn ever! Artwork by Sophia Fuller

My youngest recently brought home a construction-paper masterpiece titled “Skateboarding Unicorn.”

My wife and I both agree that this particular creation is a keeper for sure. When you open it up–it’s folded like a book–you have to unfold the unicorn that is attached to the main piece by his tail alone.  Very cute.

Apparently, you better have an ample supply of everything you can think of to feed the unicorn to keep it from eating things you don’t want them destroying, because  according to my daughter, “The skateboarding unicorn can eat everything.”

This project was born because the teacher instructed the kids to come up with inventions that didn’t exist. Well, apparently she wasn’t specific in that the invention had to be an object or device.

I suppose it could have simply been an idea, but now in the list of inventions for Sophia Fuller we can certainly put skateboarding unicorn at the top.

I’m not quite sure how he/she would do these next two things on the list, but they can also “pick flowers for you” as well as “write pictures.” Man, this kid is great!

How do they come up with this stuff?

At what age do kids lose this ability to think of anything and everything as possible?

I think that AT&T has funneled this creative spirit with their recent marketing campaign, and I have to say that it has been one of the funniest series of commercials yet.

It’s just like that line in Rocky 3/4: “You know, Stallion, it’s too bad we gotta get old.”

It’s too bad kids grow up so fast and lose that amazing quality of literally thinking anything is possible.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

