//
you're reading...
Stories, unemployment

Unemployment claims another victim, my friend George


20130419-171801.jpg
For those of you that have read my previous posts, I have an update for you about my friend, George.

Apparently, his last official day of employment with the company will be Monday, April 22.

At the very least, this will offer some closure for him as he pursues legal action, and he can now claim unemployment as well.

This is a long drawn out victory for George because this is a common tactic they use when they let someone go. Until I worked here, I had never heard the term “indefinite suspension.” They use this trick to force people to find another job regardless of pay because this categorization prevents unemployment claims.

They even offered him a position working for another branch of the company at less than half of his previous pay and about half the hours he previously worked. Obviously this would affect his ability to maintain health insurance, and other benefits associated with full-time employment.

George is happy to know that there is progress being made, as his lawsuit can now move forward.

Wish him luck, I know I will.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

