//
you're reading...
Current Events

An unexpected hero


20130404-180233.jpg
I wish I had realized what was happening before it was too late to say something to this modern-day, local hero.

As I sat in a booth, eating my breakfast sandwich at the local Subway (I freaking love this place), I failed to notice that a woman that had been in already and had returned.

Her return, in and of itself, was not the remarkable part. She had brought with her the homeless gentleman pictured above and settled him into a booth with a combo meal and then left the store as though this were old hat to her.

She clearly asked for nothing in return not even the acknowledgement from her fellow man.

It’s difficult to describe the admiration I felt for this selfless act, but I now know what true charity looks like.
True charity isn’t the government dipping its hand into your pocket and “giving” that money to those that have hampered themselves with self-imposed obstacles.

It’s not donating money to an organization and hoping that money makes it to those in need.
True charity is seeing that you have the means to make at least a single moment of a person’s life just a little better when they may be at their lowest. This help doesn’t have to be monetary; it just has to provide a means of making the world a better place.

This may be where this post takes a turn for the worse, but I feel as though I have to put this out there for my own personal vent.

Even if this happens on only a small scale–something tells me it doesn’t–I can’t stand to think that there are capapable people out there living on government assistance.
I don’t mean people that need help; I’m talking about a lifestyle.

There are people out there that refuse to get a job because they can scrape by on public assistance. There are others that work as little as possible so that their “government check” isn’t affected by their paycheck. People that work harder at not working than they would if they had a job.

These people make me sick. Taking foodstamps, public housing, medicaid, disability, etc. just so they don’t have to work. These types of assistance need a sunset clause attached to them. People should not be able to live off of them indefinitely.

It would be nice if people were required to work for their welfare check rather than have it just handed to them.
That is why this woman is a hero to me, she didn’t ask that other empty their pockets. She saw someone in need and decided to do what she felt was good and right.

She didn’t tell you that you needed to be taxed so that we can create several government jobs to collect and disperse those collected funds to others. She saw someone in need and took it upon herself to take care of at least one basic need.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “An unexpected hero

  1. First to comment yea me. If this was a geocache and I was ftf (first to find) I will get a prize perhaps. So I will await my prize Mr. Fuller for being ftc (first to comment).

    I don’t know what to say about your writings. This story started so nice. I thought it might be a feel good story the whole way but I was shortly drawn back into your world of jadedness.

    I have read many of your posts, I don’t know if I saw them all yet or not. There is definately a common theme with your writing and that is anger. Maybe not anger, I guess. Jadedness is the only thing that seems right, so fourth on I will only use the big J.

    A college degree never ensures a job. That should have been told to you from the start. It is was just an endurance test. If you can endure some test taking and some paper writing then most people can graduate college. And I would hope that you have seen that life is just that same endurance test. I will die. I know this to be true. I am sure you sit there thinking well no crap. But I would challenge you to find out how many people you know have come to that realization. Have you? Have your daughters? I would hope not for their sake. They are young and need not worry about such meaningless things. So back to the topic of endurance. Why endure this if I know the end? It is for all the millions of little things that I get to experience everyday. I have felt the big J before. It had ahold of me like I think it has you. I beat it though. I beat it by surrendering myself to the inevitability that life has for me. Ultimately death, but I know there will be many things along the way. Sure the big J comes back knocking from time to time. But I know that I must not let it take ahold of me again, because I look back to those times in my life that the big J had me and I wonder how much greatness I must have missed out on because of it.

    I see many people everyday just as you. I can instantly tell which ones the big J has and which ones are free from it. It is said that people see what they want to see. You did not see the woman’s kind gesture until late because you chose not to see it until the power of the moment was so overwhelming that your big J had to get out of the way. Did you see the homeless man on your way in? Would you buy him a meal if you saw him?

    You wrote of your wife and her unemployment, I am sorry to hear of it. You wrote of your problems with the system and again I am sorry to hear of it. But you do have a wife, a home, two daughters. What did that homeless man have. Nothing I sure. Now I am fully aware that he is homeless probably for not his own doing. Because as you have written about there are endless oportunities for people to sponge of the government. But let us imagine what he was thinking about while he was in subway eating that sandwich. I doubt he was thinking of his homelessness (I don’t know if that is a word but it should be because it looks funny with all the e’s and s’s). Was he thinking about where he was the night before or where he was going to sleep that night, probably not. Was he worried about getting a job to match his college degree, probably not. Perhaps he was imagining that he had a wife and two daughters at home and that he was just grabbing a bite to eat before he went to work at his nice job at the airport. Nah probably not, because who would want that life. I imagine he was thinking of the sandwich. At that moment he had no worries in life. It didn’t matter when he was going to eat next. Because at that moment he was in the moment and that was all.

    Mr. Fuller challenge yourself to see the greatness that is your life. You may never get the job you want. Stop putting so much focus on that aspect of your life because it is such a meaningless thing and it is turning you into something your not. I am for sure that if you love the life you have and acknowledge the greatness that you have already achieved then you will beat the big J. And then I wonder if you writings won’t become happier and healthier. And people will see that in your face and hear it in your voice and feel it in your writings and then you may just find that people will want to see, hear, and read your words and then you will have achieved that which you wanted.

    The alcoholics have a prayer they say. I dont say it to a God, I say it to myself because only I have to power to do this. Grant my the serenity to accept the things I can not change. The courage to change the things I can. And the wisdom to know the difference.

    Posted by Anonymous | April 8, 2013, 9:35 pm
    • No prizes here, other than an opportunity to get my response.

      I don’t disagree with you on the fact that I may be a bit “jaded.” I will counter that part of what has jaded me is that “nice” job at the airport. Not that it is the job itself, but more the company I work for that has jaded me to a degree. I won’t get into the details, but suffice it to say, I have never seen a company that will cast off, in many cases, good employees because of their adherence to “policy.” There is no compassion whatsoever from them regardless of time of service. I’m sure you can counter that there are many companies out there like that, but none that I have seen are to this degree.

      I was not banking on a guarantee of a job, but at least an opportunity would be nice.

      Thanks for the input and for reading!

      Posted by Todd Fuller | April 8, 2013, 10:33 pm
  2. I understand that your company may have its flaws. But I promise you every company, every employer out there have their flaws. I am very lucky to have a job that I love. My love for the job has helped me get past all the crap that I have to put up with from my superiors. But even if I hated my job and hated my superiors, is there anything I could do about it. Not really. I need a job and whether I like it or not there are not a lot of jobs out there. There would be no reason to get upset about it. How happy would that homeless man be to have a job so that he could get subway everyday.

    Posted by Anonymous | April 9, 2013, 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

