//
you're reading...
Current Events

Mission Statement


I originally wrote the following as a mission statement for this blog a couple of years ago and failed to publish it because I got side tracked. However, I think it still sums up what I am hoping to accomplish here:

When trying to figure out exactly what I wanted this blog to be about, I was at a loss. What is the best thing I could write about to stoke the fire under the readers’ (hopefully plural) interest. So I decided that I would simply try to write about current events and not try to push an agenda. Isn’t that the goal of every aspiring journalist, to only report the truth? If not, it should be. 

I think that many Americans confuse the theater of local and national news shows as actual news. Ultimately, I think, we would all be better suited to use these broadcasts as guides. Let’s take a look at this logically. Whether it’s CNN or Fox News or any of the local affiliates. all of these networks are looking to do one thing more than anything else: make money. That’s not to say that they don’t report the truth, they do, in many cases. However, sometimes just like in Disney’s The Princess and the Frog’s song says, “You gotta dig a little deeper.”

Don’t take everything you see on ANY of these shows as gospel fact. Back to the previous point of making money. How do they do that? They sell advertising. Why does that matter? Glad you asked. This only matters because of the viewpoints of the companies buying that ad time and sponsoring these broadcasts. See where I’m going here? If Fox is perceived as right-winged and conservative, it’s probably because the people paying the checks will put a stop order on those checks if they report something contrary to the company line. This is completely true for all other “news” organizations as well. 

I know for many of you out there that may be reading this, this may not be that earth shattering, but I’m sad to say that I hear, far too often, people complaining about the “liberal media” or how “Fox News lies”.
No one works for free and that is exactly what journalists are doing–working.
When you have to collect a paycheck, a paltry one at that for most journalist, then you have to abide by the voice of the one paying you that check. I’m sure most people have had to bend for their employers rules or look elsewhere for employement. The onus is placed on the reader, in some case,s to look and dig deeper into a story to get the bigger picture. Don’t rely on one source and don’t expect all the details to come from a one-stop shop. If the media didn’t rely on advertisers to foot the bills, who knows what the landscape of media would look like today?

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

