//
you're reading...
Jobs, unemployment

Thanks, unemployment


Hey! Guess what? Those unemployment checks that we make you jump through numerous hoops to get; it’s not coming anymore.

That’s pretty much the scenario my wife and I just experienced with the state of Kansas unemployment department.

My wife recently filed for the third-tier unemployment benefits and all was well, except for the fact that it takes a couple of weeks to get the paper work processed. And, they don’t send you the necessary paper work until the week before it’s due, but I digress.

Three weeks into the month of May my wife had to call the unemployment department to find out why she hadn’t received a check. What gives? Well, apparently they had placed a processing hold on the account, which no one knew why. Next week two checks were processed and appeared in her account. Yes, now we won’t starve! Fast forward to Saturday, June 2 and we find out that paper work was processed and mailed to the effect that she no longer qualifies for future benefits as of May 31, 2012.

Okay, here’s my beef with this: don’t tell us, through a letter, that we don’t qualify the dead last second of the month. I could deal with my wife having been told a month ago that her benefits would be ending on a certain date, but to send out a letter that we didn’t get until after the first of the month that her benefits have expired, because she had no eligible income after May 31, 2011. What a joke. No kidding she had no eligible income; she’s been unemployed, diligently looking for a job, going to graduate school full-time—trying to make herself more marketable, and working part-time at Old Navy.

It’s not like she hasn’t been trying to find a job, she has, but there just aren’t that many opportunities for teaching available in this area.

I don’t know if others have faced this same scenario, but I can guarantee that this has been an eye-opening experience. It seems that even in this fast-moving world we live in, government still gets outpaced by snails in a race. I just can’t fathom with all of the technological advances that have been made that it takes so longs for things to get processed.

Maybe a solution to a lot of the budget problems facing the country would be to determine a graduated flat-tax system for all incomes and then slash the size of the IRS because their provided services would be greatly reduced.

Welcome to the exciting world of unemployment!

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

