//
you're reading...
Advanced Image Technology

Rantings of a recent college graduate


As I sit here writing this, I am forced to dwell upon the fact that I have still not reached my goal.

That goal would be finding a job that I love–in case you were wondering.

I graduated December 17, 2011 after much hard work, long hours and perseverance on my part with a degree in English. I know what many of you are thinking: “WOW! The employment possibilities must be endless for you!”

Well, it gets even better. My degree actually has a journalism concentration, which is why I am writing this blog now; I have been deprived of the opportunity to write something of substance for so long that I decided I needed to do something.

I’m not deluding myself into believing that I can turn this blog into a career, but I do feel that I need a creative outlet before I go insane.

I currently have the privilege of being employed as a Transportation Security Officer at the Kansas City International airport in Kansas City, Mo. Don’t be jealous, it’s a pretty stellar gig, keep your adulation to a minimum. What this job has provided is the comfort of a steady paycheck and the ability to slowly seek that degree of which has been put to little use. Also, I have been afforded the amazing opportunity to hold a job for several years as one of the most hated jobs in the world–at least outside of politics and maybe dentistry.

The life of an airport screener is a glamorous one to be sure. If it’s not the atrocious hours we work then it’s the super happy, smiling passengers coming through thanking us for relieving them of their liquids (those found to be outside of allowed limits), grandpa’s antique pocket knife, or some other odd prohibited item they desperately thought they need on the plane with them.

But to get back to the topic at hand, I plug away day after day in hopes that I will eventually be able to procure a job that will allow for some small bastion of satisfaction. I know that times are tough and I also realize that the career I chose is experiencing some hard times right now, but I have to hope I will eventually be able to say that I persevered and actually reached my potential. Thanks for listening/reading.

About Todd Fuller

After a really long search, I found work that I feel is more relevant to my degree--technical writing. While it's not what I initially envisioned doing, it's actually been very enjoyable and rewarding work. I guess I feel like there is still more out there to do, so I've decided I will try the whole blogging thing again and resurrect this site. If anyone's still out there, enjoy and feel free to comment.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Rantings of a recent college graduate

  1. What kind of a job are you looking for? I’m working on a double major in Journalism and Professional Writing.

    Posted by Sara Katherine | May 27, 2012, 3:40 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Sidebar

